Blogging Actually / Just Food

Do you eat th-rice a day?

My love for eating rice has been on and off over the years. Back in the Philippines where I grew up, a meal won’t be a proper meal without rice. No matter how tantalizing or flavorful the main dish would be, with rice absence, well, you would be scolded and asked to quickly cook one. So we eat rice three times a day. It simply is just a part of our diet.

With rice, everything just seems to taste even better.

Living in the UK was probably one of the reasons why I stopped eating it everyday. There are just many alternative foods available for me. Mouth-watering fish and chips for instance. It was only when I became pregnant that my love for rice got rekindled. My husband would diligently cook me a pot of rice every day along with marinated chicken breast as the main dish and sweet potatoes for dessert. Rice was one of the few things I could actually eat at that time since the rest of the food I used to love, I just couldn’t stand either their smell or taste. Ah, pregnancy and what it does to your five senses.

Apparently, there are 25,000 varieties of rice out there! Wow. But brown rice and white rice are the most well-known to us perhaps. I eat both, sometimes when at my Mom’s, she would combine the two!

So how beneficial is eating rice for you especially when you’re pregnant? Well, it has all the complex carbohydrates which give us the energy we need. (And don’t we need a lot of it when pregnant?) It contains all the amino acids essential for building and maintaining muscle tissue, and make up antibodies, enzymes, and hormones. Plus brown rice is said to play an important role in reducing bad cholesterol. Furthermore, in terms of vitamins and minerals, brown rice also is a source of :

Vitamin B1 (thiamin)
Vitamin B2 (riboflavin)
Vitamin B3 (niacin)
Iron
Magnesium
Dietary fiber

Although, many of these nutrients are polished away in white rice.

So now I know why as much as my Mom loves white rice, she always mixes it with brown rice!

What’s your favorite rice dish?

Do you have any foods you suddenly love while pregnant but not before or not anymore? 

Source: ezinearticles.com

4 thoughts on “Do you eat th-rice a day?

  1. Pingback: One not-so fine lazy day… «

  2. Pingback: Anonymous

  3. Pingback: Mizon Haul # 2: Lots of skincare goodness! « sweet jelly bean

  4. Pingback: Prawn dish on a lazy day… «

Now, your turn. This space is all yours!

