Beauty / My Shopping Ventures / Product/Services Reviews / Skincare

YOUR MAKEUP DESERVES A LITTLE TLC, OR PERHAPS, BINNING?

The other day, I decided to spend a little more time in organizing my little stash of skincare/cosmetic products. I didn’t like the sight of them being scattered on the table with everything else. It gives me a headache.  So I bought this little rectangular trays, hoping for a clutter-free result. This set (5 trays) did not cost me the earth, and to be honest, I wasn’t willing to pay another penny than what I’ve paid for this already, and that’s $3.50. Not bad, I thought. 

I segregated them in terms of make-up products, skincare stuff, facial/foam wash and so on. And then came the debate of where to put all these trays best, when it comes to what would be better for these products to prolong their life span. Argh! In the end, I sought the help of Google using my phone (while I was trying to put my baby to sleep 🙂 ). And that’s how I stumbled upon this informative website, checkcosmetic.net. 

Here are some of the info there that I feel are very useful.

What is average PAO for my mascara (lipstick, gloss etc)?

General period after opening is:
Perfumes, perfume, edp – up to 3 years;
Powders (including blush, eyeshadows powdery texture) – 1 to 3 years;
Foundation in a jar or a cream powder – 1 to 3 years;
Liquid tone means (in tubes or jars with dispenser) – 1 year;
Nail polish – 1 year;
Sun cosmetics – 1 year (but no more than one season);
Lipstick, lip gloss – 1 year;
Pencil (Eye, Lip) – about 1 year;
Skin care products (hydrating cosmetics, wrinkle, eye contour) in a sealed packet with the pump – about a year, in a jar – from 6 to 10 months;
Solid eyeliner and eyebrow pencil – from 6 to 8 months;
Bronzing – 6 months;
Mascara – 3-6 months;
Liquid eyeliner – from 3 to 4 months;
Natural/Organic products – up to 6 months.

Please note that natural and organic cosmetics, which do not include preservatives, can be stored up to 6 months after opening. Reason: absence of preservatives leads to a proliferation of bacteria.

What are possible consequences of expired cosmetics using?

In the best case, expired cosmetics just stop doing what it should do; it can change its appearance, smell and color, or become a sticky or oily.
In the worst case, expired cosmetics can result in skin irritation, dermatitis, allergic reactions and infection.

This might sound like I am just a complete idiot, but I never knew what this meant before (referring to the ‘open jar’ logo along with 12M and 18M on these pics) and never really bothered to find out either. Lol. But now I know that it’s a guide as to how long you can use the product and enjoy its benefits at best after opening. I had one of the ‘ahh, so that’s what it’s for’ moments when I realized it finally earlier. Last year, I tossed so many make up products and creams that were just piled up on my table collecting dust, without even checking. I don’t know but during my pregnancy and right after giving birth, I seemed to have stayed away from all of these stuff. Must be my hormones disturbing the balance of my likes and dislikes. That’s all I can really think of. Ha ha.

Simple practices for keeping cosmetics fresh:
For full details, please click here. 

  • To get maximum benefit and enjoyment from your cosmetics, follow the simple rules of hygiene…. and that’s washing your hands with soap and water before you wash off make up or apply creams!
  • To let your favorite cosmetics “live” up to date promised by the manufacturer, it must be properly stored – constant low air temperature area, without direct access to sunlight, avoiding moisture.
  • Bacteria, molds, fungi that grow in cosmetics, may cause various unpleasant skin reactions, and they thrive in warm and humid conditions. That’s why cosmetics should be stored in a cool, dry place away from direct sunlight. It is not recommended to store makeup in the bathroom (very damp). Please note that cosmetics do not like the heat and quickly deteriorate. You can store cosmetics (especially creams, lotions) in the refrigerator. The ideal temperature is 8-12 degrees Celsius (46.4-53.6 Fahrenheit).
  • As soon as you notice that the eye shadows began to crumble – trash it!
  • Lipstick can also serve you well for the same promised three years. But matte lipstick dries much faster and usually deteriorates sooner. And as soon as you feel that lipstick has rancid taste – trash it!
  • Mascara should be replaced every 3-6 months. If you are prone to eye diseases, choose a waterproof mascara; vaseline based solvents make an unfavorable environment for bacteria. In order to maximize mascara shelf life, try to minimize the time when the tube is opened; in any case, do not leave it open.
  • Another hint: if you have over 10 lip gloss for this season, and you’ve got eleventh – do not hurry to open it. Keep it in the refrigerator. Such way you can keep it intact until at least the next season.
Seriously, 10 lip gloss? I won’t be surprised though if some would have more than this! In fact, I came across this video a while ago and I was gobsmacked, mesmerized and left daydreaming in the end of wishing perhaps I could have some of those collection. 🙂
(video by cosmetic-candy)

That’s it folks!

So how do you look after your beauty/skincare collection? Any useful tips you can share?

2 thoughts on “YOUR MAKEUP DESERVES A LITTLE TLC, OR PERHAPS, BINNING?

    • Definitely. I’ve been more careful on this recently since my skin became very sensitive after giving birth so I had to buy new stuff and I had to throw so much last year. It was such a waste but just had to do it.

Now, your turn. This space is all yours!

