Baby Products / Baby Skin Problems / My Shopping Ventures / Product/Services Reviews / Weleda

REVIEW: WELEDA’S CALENDULA BODY WASH & SHAMPOO. FIRST EXPERIENCE

My Nanay (grandma in my native tongue – Bisaya), who raised me, once said that I was a Johnson’s pampered baby. From powder, body wash, shampoo, oils, lotion, to cotton buds – apparently – I used ’em all.  She used to tell me that my deep black hair would look so healthy and shiny after each wash. Ah, those bygone days.

With my little boy however, this wasn’t quite the case. I didn’t just jump into the Johnson’s wago when he was born. Knowing that babies have very sensitive skin, I did a lot of research of what products to buy for him and myself. I was very anxious on what to apply to my skin, worrying that it would irritate his on contact. Yes, I was probably a little bit paranoid in the beginning. And when eczema got him really bad, I, more or less, freaked out.

So for months, I stocked up with products with natural ingredients that I believed were baby-friendly. I went for the Earth Friendly Baby range since I’ve known of this brand when I was in the US before. In fact, as soon as I found out that ECOS (one of their laundry detergent range) was available on Amazon.co.uk, I ordered it right away. (Sorry Persil, sorry Fairy)

And as much as I wanted to try a Johnson’s product on him, I just didn’t want to take the risk of setting his eczema off.  However, when he turned 7 months or so and eczema-free, I started using Jonhson’s Bedtime Bath for him, which fortunately did not cause him any skin irritation.

But this all changed when I got a new post alert from TheBump Blog that really sent me to panic mode that has to do with this product and others. Click for the post hereAlthough this was explained why these baby products tested positive for marijuana, and was pointed out that it’s still safe for babies, I was really put off inside. Plus, why does it have to be the bedtime bath – the baby product that’s supposed to calm or soothe your baby?? So any who, after much deliberation, I decided to buy another baby wash for him.

Along came Weleda’s  Calendula Shampoo and Body Wash.

 

They say:

An all natural baby shampoo and body wash that cleans and softens without synthetic detergents

Formulated with the mildest organic and natural plant-based cleansers, Weleda Calendula Shampoo and Body Wash is gentle and tear-free. Biodynamic® and organic calendula flower extract in this all natural baby shampoo soothes and softens your baby’s hair and skin. Sweet almond oil absorbs fast and easily to keep your baby’s skin and hair from losing precious moisture.

Ingredients:

INCI: Water (Aqua), Coco-Glucoside, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Alcohol, Disodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan), Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Xanthan Gum, Lactic Acid, Fragrance (Parfum)*, Limonene*, Linalool*. *from natural essential oils

I was more than confident to use this product on my baby. I did my research on this and found wonderful reviews from parents alike. It has a lovely thickness consistency for a baby wash and doesn’t foam right away (a good thing since no artificial foaming agents there). It left my baby’s skin smooth and no feeling of dryness after his bath.

Also this being a shampoo really exceeded my expectation. It was overwhelming to see how shiny and soft my baby’s hair looked after just the first wash. WOW! And curious little me, I tried it myself. Result? I think I have now my new favourite shampoo! This purchase was worth every penny. Amazon UK currently has this on sale at £4.79 for 200ml. I’ve also seen this product from Boots local store and online, as well as my local Waitrose supermarket.

The fact that this product works well for both baby and Mommy, is something worth feeling happy and sharing about. Well done, Weleda!

Keep smiling =)

AJ’s Mom

What’s your favourite baby product/s? Have you and your baby gone all-natural?

Source/Photo credits: http://www.weleda.co.uk, thebump.com, amazon.co.uk

One thought on “REVIEW: WELEDA’S CALENDULA BODY WASH & SHAMPOO. FIRST EXPERIENCE

  1. Pingback: Formaldehyde: In Baby and Adults Products??? « Sweetjellybean/Fun & Sweetly Inspired…

Now, your turn. This space is all yours!

